One Year On | Brisbane Floods 2011

A year ago this week QLD went through its biggest natural disaster in nearly 30 years when 70% of the state was declared a natural disaster zone after floods and cyclones ripped through causing wide-spread damage and unfortunately loss of life. When I was growing up I always remembered hearing about the floods in the 70’s but whoever thought I would live through one myself. When I woke up on the Tuesday I received a phone call from my mum at work telling me that they were being evacuated, roughly 12 hours later the power was cut and it started 3 days of no power and being cut off as streets were covered in water. Down below is a slide show of pictures I took of the flood and some of the recovery process and clean up once the waters receded.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you have any stories of your own leave a comment below.

Thank you for reading.

Allan Klimo || Editor

This post is dedicated to the people who lost their lives.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Round-Up | 09/01/12 – 15/01/12 « Stylists Life Inc

  2. Pingback: Weekly Round-Up | 09/01/12 – 15/01/12 | Stylists Life Inc


Leave a Reply

